You can upgrade for….

Always sounds like a good offer, right?

That’s exactly what happen when I went to the movies last week. While buying a small bag of popcorn the cashier enthusiastically said, “you can upgrade to a medium for fifty cents more”! Now at this very moment I can take his offer or reject it. I rejected his offer because I didn’t need anymore popcorn, but then something caught my eye. I looked up to see how much more would a small cost without his “upgrade offer”. Well as you can see from the pic above the small is $2.90 and the medium is $3.40 (50 cents more anyway), but the way the offer was positioned makes it a success.

In fact the customer behind me asked for a small bag, but when the cashier offered to upgrade for fifty cents more she took the bait.

Leave a Reply

