How to prove how indispensable you think a product or service is?

One of the blogs I read is Michael Hyatt’s he is the former Chairman and CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers, the seventh largest trade book publishing company in the U.S and you can find him at michaelhyatt.com.

On one of his post back in 2010  he interviewed Seth Godin on his book Linchpin.

At the end of the interview Mr.Hyatt said this:

Just to prove how valuable I think this book is, I am recommending it to you despite the fact that it was not published by Thomas Nelson. It was published by Portfolio Books, an imprint of Penguin. They have graciously made 100 copies of Linchpin available to my readers. In addition, Seth has given me 12 additional, autographed copies to give away. That’s 112 total copies!

To get a chance at snagging one, you must take the following four actions:

  1. Leave a comment below. Tell me why you want this book. Be creative. I really do read these comments and base my decisions on them.
  2. Fill out the special form. I have set up a separate contact form to make it convenient for you to provide your mailing address. Please do not put your shipping address in your comment. This will automatically disqualify you.
  3. Twitter a link to this post. You can do so automatically by clicking here. If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can use Facebook.
  4. Promise to read the book. You will be tempted to set it aside, like you and I have done with so many other good books. But this is a book that really will change everything for you—but only if you read it. Obviously, I can’t monitor whether you actually follow-through. I am just asking you to make a promise to yourself. And keep it.

On Friday, January 29, 2010, I will select 112 people, based solely on my arbitrary and subjective evaluation of their comments. If you are one of those selected, Lindsey Nobles on my team will notify you via email. If you don’t hear from her, you can assume you didn’t make the cut.

Wow! Tell me that’s not showing belief, sincerity, authenticity,  and value in a product. But there are two things to note here:

1. Seth has created a remarkable product – a product worth making a remark about

2. Is that my approach to Social Networking holds true: “The networking that matters is helping people achieve their goals, doing it reliably and repeatedly, so that over time people have an interest in helping you achieve your goals.”

So now my question to you is:

What ways do you prove that a product or service that you use is valuable?

4 thoughts on “How to prove how indispensable you think a product or service is?

  1. Seth is great at marketing & promoting, and he returns emails! In my library I’ve listened to his book, “All marketers are Liars:The power of telling authentic stories in a low trust World” numerous times, and highly recommend it.

    Also, I’m enjoying your blog! Keep up the high quality work!

  2. At a favorite restaurant, I made a point of telling the proprietor how great her food and menu were compared to that of her competitors. Surprisingly, she told me of a particular establishment’s efforts to put her out of business. She is quite innovative and still in business, but I took several of her business cards to distribute. I make a point of dining there two or three times a month. People tend to show up when I dine there with someone else.

Leave a Reply

