4 Ways to Build Your Tribe

Marketing (Advertising) is obviously not dead, but, in the social media world, it has morphed.

The new marketing of today is tribe-building .

  • Marketing (Advertising) is no longer about interrupting the marketplace with your media messages. It is about two-way conversation—in other words, engagement.
  • Marketing (Advertising) is no longer about retail distribution and sales (generating transactions). It is about building relationships.
  • Marketing (Advertising) is no longer about exploiting a market for your own benefit. It is about serving those who share your passion—for your mutual benefit.

A tribe only has two requirements:

  1. A shared interest
  2. A way to communicate.

4 Ways to Build a Tribe:

  1. Discover your passion. Marketing is the act of sharing enthusiasm. It’s as simple as that. For example, Dave Ramsey fans—Dave has built a huge and immense tribe of people who are passionate about getting out of debt and taking control of their money. It borders on religious fervor. No wonder. His philosophy has given hope to millions. And it all began when he discovered his passion for getting people out of debt.
  2. Volunteer to lead. This is the foundation of a tribe. Without a tribal leader, you don’t have a tribe. You only have a crowd. Leading people who already want to follow is what marketing is really about . They just need a leader to take them where they already want to go.
  3. Be generous. The old marketing was about scarce shelf space, limited air time, getting picked by a producer, and taking.  Well, with more channels and places to be seen and heard, it turns out, “It is more blessed to give than to receive” (see Acts 20:35) is a brilliant marketing strategy. When you lead by serving and by giving, people follow.
  4. Provide a way to communicate. People need a way to communicate (social networking sites, networking events, parties, workshops, concerts, and etc.). They need a way to share their stories. In Tribes, Seth outlines four kinds of tribal leadership. If you’re serious about building a tribe, you have to provide for all four kinds of communication.
    • Tribe leader to tribe member.
    • Tribe member to tribe leader.
    • Tribe member to tribe member.
    • Tribe member to outsiders.

The real problem is no longer whether or not a TV producer, or record label or publishing company or magazine editor will pick you out of the crowd and market your service or product and give you the visibility you need to succeed. It is really about whether or not you are willing to provide leadership to a tribe who shares your passion.

34 thoughts on “4 Ways to Build Your Tribe

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. Its pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    • Thank you! I purposely try to create useful content and provide my readers with content that will take them to an higher level of success. Thanks for your comment and I hope to read more of them.

  2. Pingback: 5 Rungs to Building a Social Media Presence « Indispensable Marketing

  3. Pingback: 4 Ways to Build Your Tribe « Business Boot Camp Bloginar

  4. Hi, I just wanted to let you know that I was forced to move my blog from internetmarketingarc.wordpress.com to internetmarketingarc.blogspot.com. Please check me out at the new blog address. I would like to stay in touch with you!

  5. A good Read Patrick. Networking is very much about establishing relationships. I like the definition that goes, networking is about communicating with others beyond the reason for the initial contact. That’s the one I share with others I work with.

  6. All your points plus more are what we are doing, lets stay connected and help each other in 2013, Jason at Zynkin….Keep up the great work

  7. thanks for liking my post on recently selling some of my art. I get a fair number of Likes. Some from people that probably just arbitrarily click on Like to get a like back. I ignore those.
    I don’t sense you do this, I like the tone of your blog, and I am sure it has helpful information for me even though I am fairly anti-‘marketing’ when it comes to my art. Your Like would be more meaningful to me if I knew what you connected with in that post. Let me know, thanks, Sarah

  8. Pingback: 4 Ways to Build Your Tribe « The Desk

  9. Pingback: Why Kickstarter was started « Indispensable Marketing

  10. Hi Patrick! Thanks for stopping by my blog, AmbleAlong, earlier in the day. I am so glad you liked what I put together, and I am even happier now that I checked out your blog!

    As a fellow marketer, what you shared in the above post (especially about sharing discovering and sharing your passion) really spoke to me.

    I will be sure to be a frequent visitor to your site going forward!

    ;O)

  11. Pingback: All authors should give their first book away! « Indispensable Marketing

  12. Pingback: 4 Ways to Build Your Tribe – Where's Your Website?

  13. Pingback: Reminder… 4 Ways to Build Your Tribe « Marketing Awesome

Leave a Reply

